Radical Gay Family Agenda 7/13/11

Just to give people an idea why marriage equality is SO important:

As we finalize our packing for our trip abroad, we had to double-check to make sure we had copies of all our legal papers. We would not need all these legal papers if marriage equality were a reality and DOMA was removed. Jeff and I have copies of our Power Of Attorney, Power of Health Attorney, a copy of our marriage certificate, and a copy of our daughter’s birth certificate. We have to keep these papers on us at all times to make sure we are able to visit each other in the hospital in case of an emergency and that we can make medical decisions for each other. We also have to keep our daughter’s birth certificate with us to prove she is ours. Agents sometimes question men traveling with a child and we have to make sure we do not have problems. Since we are not recognized as a family unit, we are often split up when going through customs and have to prove parental rights to our child. There are so many things that have to change so that we are all treated with equality and respect. Heterosexual married couples and their families are not split up during customs checks. It is important that Federal forms and Customs routines are changed to reflect the makeup of ALL families.

Our radical gay family agenda today consists of doing the airport shuffle and getting to Italy safe. We have packed all kinds of small (silent) toys, coloring books, crayons, and sticker books into our daughter’s Monster’s Inc. backpack. We think we have enough snacks. We were sure to pack one snack per 30 minutes of travel. Thank goodness I took algebra in school, I had to use it today to figure snack consumption per travel time! We also bought her a new Nintendo 3-DS and have loaded her iPad with new movies. We are doing everything possible to make sure she is occupied on the long flight to Italy. If all else fails, she is grandma’s responsibility. After all, that is why grandma gets to travel with us! We may be RADICAL but we are not CRAZY!

Our little princess is bouncing off the walls with excitement. We are all excited to see familiar countries through her eyes. We hope her bouncing is limited to our time before take-off. If not, we have grandma and Benadryl! Wish this radical gay family luck as we endure 2 weeks of extended family in tight quarters. We may need a vacation from our vacation when we return.

6 responses to “Radical Gay Family Agenda 7/13/11

  1. Jennifer Lockett

    You know, this is something that I have not even remotely considered. Thanks for putting it out there.
    I don’t know why I didn’t consider the men traveling with children thing. My father used to do some solo travel with us as children and you’re right, he did get looks and questions.
    Have a wonderful vacation (and here’s to you not needing to produce any of those documents). Travel safely and enjoy the food and the wine!

  2. Have a great vacation!
    I hope marriage equality is around the corner. It’s about time!
    I wonder how it will differ for my gf and I when we make the plunge.

  3. Have a great trip and I look forward to reading more of your radicalness that will surely ensue in Europe! Thanks for sharing the customs story, I had no idea you guys would be split up, I sure hope by the time I take a trip abroad my partner and I don’t have to deal with that nonsense! (perhaps wishful thinking…)

  4. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

