Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/25/11

Last night I had a very spiritual experience. Yes folks, as they say in The Color Purple, “sinners have soul too”. We were fortunate enough to enjoy some gospel music in the chapel at Palmetto Bluffs. What an amazing experience to sit on a church pew with a glass of wine and listen to some amazing singers who call themselves The Voices of Shaddai. I was truly moved to tears by their voices. Sitting on that chapel pew last night I realized how much I missed church. Don’t get me wrong, I despise most religion and what the religious extremists are doing to tear our world apart, but I miss the church I knew as a child. I miss the wonderful music, sense of community, and caring people. I do not miss the preaching and judgement and installation of fear and hate. It struck me last night that these beautiful people were sharing a special moment with me that I would treasure sharing again, however, I would probably not be welcome in their church because I am gay. I saddens me to know that I can no longer enjoy the experience of the church I so enjoyed in my youth. At least I had my moment last night. Those women raised the roof off that chapel….Hallelujah! Praise Jesus! (hands in the air, feet stomping, joy)

Today we return home from a nice little get-away. I can’t wait to see my little angel and get my hugs and kisses. I understand she was attacked by a swarm of mosquitoes yesterday at school, so I have lots of boo boos to kiss. We will have to stop at the store on the way home and pick up some new Hello Kitty Band-Aids to cover those boo boos and prevent her from scratching. Mosquitoes, the one major downfall of living in the South.

I have lots of work to catch up on, as does Jeff. We will be back to reality tomorrow. With my new-found spirituality, I think I may have some new plans for destroying the sanctity of marriage. I’m going to raise my hands, raise my voice, and magically rip those marriages apart. Can I get an Amen?

7 responses to “Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/25/11

  1. Amen my husband! It was a joyous thrill. Our daughter has to hear them. She would love it.

  2. I’m so glad you had a spiritual experience through the concert, but I was saddened that you seem to associate all Christian churches with religious extremists and hatred. You & your family would be more than welcome at my church, and at many others. It takes some looking, but there are many churches out there that have all the things you cherished about your childhood church AND preach love, non-jundmentalism, justice for the poor & outcast, and inclusivity of all people.
    Do some looking!
    Blessings
    Sarah

    • Hi Sarah,
      I don’t associate all Christian churches with religious extremists and hatred. I apologize for the generalization. I was mainly referring to the church I went to as a child. I know there are open and accepting churches. I think it is great that you offer a place where people can go to feel that sense of community that I have lost. Maybe one day we will cross paths.
      Take care,
      Tommy

  3. If you would like an affirming church community, you should check out the United Church of Christ (www.ucc.org) to find an open and affirming church near you. The UCC motto is “No matter who you are or where you are on life’s journey, you are welcome here.” The UCC church we attend here in Michigan has lots of gay families (including ours) and we are welcome, supported and celebrated! Note that not every UCC church is open and affirming of gays and lesbians (we’re congregationalists so every church gets to decide) but many are, as is the national denomination.

    • Thank you, Ellen. We live in a small town with very few options. We are pretty happy finding our sense of community in other areas. I am happy to know there are places out there where “radicals” like me would be welcome. Thanks for reading my blog.
      Tommy

  4. You should try a Unitarian Universalist church — you might find the sense of community and moments that touch your soul. I have. There is great joy to be found in a community of seekers who value “the inherent worth and dignity of every person”.

Leave a Reply

