Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/23/11

I’m looking forward to getting out of town for a couple of days. Jeff and I are leaving today to attend a retreat for his work. My daughter is staying home with our best friend so she does not miss any of her last week of school. I know she is excited about having a break from her daddies. Her excitement usually lasts about 10 minutes and she starts missing us. I’m sure she will be just fine. Spoiled, but fine.

Another typical day today. My daughter ate her breakfast and got dressed for school as usual. Today she is wearing a camouflage skirt in honor of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell. One of these days our soldiers will be able to serve openly and honestly. At any rate, I hope my daughter does not decide to hide in the bushes at school, they may not find her!

Ballet and tap class this afternoon for her. This is their last practice run before their big recital this weekend. I know she will do a great job. Those plie’s are looking fierce! We took a hair and makeup class yesterday afternoon and now know how to paint our 4-year-old to look like the Toddlers In Tiaras stars. I’m not real happy about all the makeup she has to wear. We even have to apply foundation, eyeshadow, eyeliner, and RED lipstick. At least she does not have to wear the false eyelashes until next year. Is it weird that we were able to tell the moms how to apply the eyelashes? Maybe I am over-reacting, but I think it is a bit much. Daddy is a little panicked by all this. You would think a gay man would like all the makeup and hair production but I don’t. I appreciate the innocence of my little girl and do not want to see it go away with the trappings of the view society has on women. It would be much more fun for me to have all the hair and makeup!

Jeff and I have a four-hour drive today. We have plenty of time to come up with more tactics to diminish the sanctity of marriage. He sometimes comes up with the best ideas because of his Mormon background. Stay tuned!

2 responses to “Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/23/11

  1. Hi Tommy,

    I’m a gay ballet teacher and have put on a ton of recitals. I understand your concern about the make-up, but it’s strictly a matter of practicality–stage lights wash out a person’s features, no matter how old, hence the need for eyeliner, bright red lipstick, etc. It’s not to look “older” or provocative as in “Toddlers and Tiaras.” Keep those plies coming!

    • Thanks for helping me understand the theatrical significance of all the make-up. We will take it all with a grain of salt and make sure her make-up is worthy of a MAC cosmetics professional.
      Stay Radical!
      Take care,
      Tommy

Leave a Reply

