Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/15/11

Last night I had the honor of hearing some very radical stories from the “super radicals”. The room was filled with heart-wrenching stories about multiple miscarriages, failed adoptions, custody lawsuits and fertility treatments. The majority of us had to endure unreasonable hurdles to start our families. Every person in the room had a plan to start a family and stuck with that plan until they ultimately became parents. I wish the world knew the sacrifices and struggles we have gone through just to create loving homes and families to be a part of the real fabric of America. We all care so much about the health and well-being of our children that we would give up everything for them. Isn’t that what a parent is supposed to do?

So many children come into the world not wanted. It annoys me to no end that there are people who call their children an accident. It pains me to know there are people who discard their child like a piece of trash. There are people who kill their babies because they just don’t want them. I have heard of people abusing their children because they feel they are a burden to them. Or, people who have babies and get so wrapped up in their drug induced, violent, destructive lives that they have lose their children to the government. I acknowledge all these people as PEOPLE but they are in no way PARENTS. Yet, society allows these people to be parents and denies people like me from taking these precious children and giving them a loving, stable home. Like one of our “super radicals” stated last night, “just give them to me if you don’t want them!”

So, today I wake up with a new sense of honor for being so radical. I am honored to sit in a room with such courageous and aspirational people. I am honored to be a daddy and a respected member of society. I am honored to continue the fight to ensure our families are treated with respect and dignity. At any rate, I will continue my Radical Gay Family Agenda because I would have it no other way.

Tomorrow, I will get back to the real gritty stuff. I will let you know all about the sinister agenda of packing lunches, healing boo boos, cooking dinner, carpool, work, and loving my family. Stay tuned…it may get crazy this week!

2 responses to “Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/15/11

  1. It is sad the loops that must be jumped through because so many people in power believe we some how could “corrupt” the children. Yes, because you know, growing up feeling rejected isn’t corrupting at all.
    This all really falls back to the stereotype of Gays and Transsexuals being sexual deviants that wish to stamp their supposed “perversion” onto a young child.
    In a way, this is the fault of those who protested before us. If you make a display of yourself that depicts the very stereotype people hear and have come to fear, of course it will be used against you. Though people seem to forget that not every gay man dresses in Hot pink and walks with a limp wrist, just as not all lesbians are wearing crew cuts and are in biker gangs.
    I know these are rather wild examples, but as I am sure you know, people like to look at the extremes when making their argument.
    I look at the picture of the three of you at the top of your blog and I see two men with a Daughter who seem very happy with their family. That happiness is one I have seen in unnumbered family photos of “Typical” married couples.
    To prevent any conclusion from your readers that my support for your family lies in the fact that I am both apart of the community(So obviously I would endorse your “Radical agenda”) and seeking equal rights myself, it is important to say that I have strong issues with the LGB movement as I have felt for a long time that the needs of the Transsexual community have been throw under the bus so they could make certain leaps forward. This has been noted in several cases in which states support gay rights, but fail in Gender Identity rights. Its a topic I feel strongly about and I’m sure if you read my Journal, you know I don’t hold back any punches but also support my claims with fact.
    So, in closing I honestly and without Bias say I am so happy that you have your family and can watch your daughter grow, teaching her acceptance and raise her in a manner that will undoubtedly provide her the tools for a happy and fulfilling life.
    Keep up the fight, as I will. We need more radicals out there like you.

    Freedom. Equality. For Everyone. Forever.

    – LiVia

    • LiVia,
      Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. I invite you to visit the website of Family Equality Council, http://www.familyequality.org. They are an organization that respects and advocates for the “T” in LGBTQ. I am a major supporter and proud affiliate of this great organization. It is nice to be a part of a movement and network of allys that support the rights of ALL.
      My Best,
      Tommy

Leave a Reply

