Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/13/11

My meeting ended early enough last night that I was able to tuck my daughter in to bed. This has got to be the best time of the night for most radical families. I love the sweet hugs and kisses and “I love you, daddies” we get every night. We have a very disturbing night-time routine. Jeff usually gives our daughter her bath, makes sure she brushes her teeth, combs her hair and let’s her pick out her pajamas for the night. Once she is dressed and ready for bed, she gets to choose one book and a favorite bedtime stuffed animal. She makes her way through the house to make sure everyone gets a goodnight hug and kiss and marches straight back to her room. Once she is tucked in her bed we snuggle up beside her and read her book. She listens very intently and often asks questions about the characters. My favorite question came one night when we were reading a story about a princess. The question was, “daddy, are you a queen too?” My proud response, “of course I am, honey, and don’t you forget it!”

Once we finish her book she usually reminds us that her water bottle needs to be refilled with fresh water just in case she wakes up in the middle of the night and is thirsty. I blame her dad for starting that little routine. I was always taught that if you drink anything late at night you will wet the bed. Thankfully, she has never wet the bed but we are onto her agenda. I think the filling of the water bottle is just an excuse to keep us in her room longer. What an absolute chore to be sucked in to spending more time with a precious child. She is just as evil as we are; it must be all the gay training she receives. The ritual winds down with us singing Edelweiss every night as she tucks her little hands under her cheeks, clenches to her stuffed panda bear and sweetly falls off to sleep. She dreams away under a poem her dad and I wrote in bold letters on her ceiling: “Your daddies had a dream, and along came you…You are living proof, our fairytale came true.”

Today I am en route to Dallas for a Family Equality Council board meeting. This is a meeting where “Super Radicals” gather to discuss plans to destroy the sanctity of marriage. It will be interesting to hear how everyone else has been handling their daily radical agendas of caring for their children, keeping their homes safe and clean, keeping up with doctor’s appointments, PTA meetings, church duties, and family time. I hope to learn something new and deviant.

Jeff is left with the responsibility of picking our daughter up from school, making her dinner, and proceeding with the radical nightly ritual. I will miss my family while I am away and can’t wait to get back to my regular radical agenda.

3 responses to “Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/13/11

  1. I can’t wait to hear what the “Super Radicals” are planning next.

  2. I already subscribe to your “radical” posts and LOVE every one of them!!! Thank you, most sincerely, for opening your private lives to us and sharing your lovely story.

    Tommy, once your daughter has grown into the lovely, brilliant, independent, strong, compassionate and open-minded young woman I’ve no doubt she will become (because she already IS all of these, and MORE), you should compile the “radical” agenda missives into a book entitled, “Daddies’ Fairy-tale.”

    I have absolutely NO DOUBT whatever, Tommy, that it will be a NYT BEST SELLER! In fact, I would go so far as to say that it would provide tremendous support for LGBT who may be struggling with many of the issues you and Jeff confronted throughout your lovely lives together. What is more, should you so choose, a portion of the proceeds could be designated for the Family Equality Council and they, in turn, could help promote it for you and, as well, others may join in its promotion such as Rosie O’Donnell!

    In addition, most of the proceeds could go toward your daughter’s university education, and more!

    The most IMPORTANT benefit, however, Tommy, will be the love you share with readers blessed by your touching prose.

    Tommy & Jeff:

    My daughter, Jennifer, son, Will, and I are truly honored and blessed by your friendship and love you all!

    In fond friendship, affectionately yours,

    Bill O’Neil

Leave a Reply

