Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/8/2011

Today my letter to the editor at the Charlotte Observer was published. I have printed it below. I think it is very important that we speak up and fight for families. I received an email in response to my letter that I must share. I couldn’t agree more:

Hi Tommy,

Thank you for your letter to The Forum, which appeared in today’s Charlotte Observer. Thanks for taking a stand and for expressing your views publicly.

All of us must denounce discrimination in voices so loud that they cannot be muffled, in words so clear that they cannot be misunderstood, and in deeds so bold that they cannot be ignored.

With gratitude,
Ralph

Our radical agenda is short today. We are driving home from Atlanta and excited to see our daughter. She gave us many kisses through the phone and told us what a wonderful time she is having with her friends. Back to baths and bedtime stories tonight, and yes, even a little Dora the Explorer! It is always nice to have a break but I miss my baby.

We will continue our destruction of heterosexual marriage tomorrow. Stay tuned, it could be your marriage we destroy!

My Letter to the Editor:

Santorum’s remarks about gay parents show he’s out of touch

Last week Sen. Rick Santorum called into question the ability of single parents, gay parents and others to raise happy, healthy children. As a gay father who spends his days getting breakfast on the table, participating in my daughter’s school community and helping people in need, I can tell you that Sen. Santorum could not be more out of touch with the reality of the American family.

A quarter of America’s children are being raised by single parents; more than 2.5 million by grandparents; and 2 million by gay and lesbian parents. They’re raising their children to love their country, respect their neighbors, worship a loving God, and be valuable members of society.

Tommy Starling

Pawleys Island, S.C.

2 responses to “Radical Gay Family Agenda 5/8/2011

  1. I’ve been reading your blog with some interest now for a while. Congrats on taking a stand. Though I go about it a little different, I too try to make my own difference. I subscribed to your blog and look forward to more posts. If you’re interested, my blog here is vforvivified@wordpress.com.

    LiVia

Leave a Reply

